An all-star contract!

Apollo 11 LEM on the Moon – Copyright © Chaîne du Québec
When NASA gave the company its “ticket to the moon”, the hope was that this landing gear would help the company really take off! This contract—the most prestigious in Héroux’s short history, at a value of $340,000 (about $2 million today)—was to build eight telescopic legs with shock absorbers. It may sound simple, but as no one had ever set foot on the moon, the engineers had no idea about the ground on which the Lunar Module would make its landing. But the challenge was too exciting to pass up!

ap11leminspec.jpg__274x161_q85_crop

Apollo 11 LEM Undocks for Landing

In engineering, every now and then special assignments like this come along. These projects are often secret, because they are highly strategic. But when an engineer spends every day immersed in plans, testing and assembly, he forgets about the end use. His sole obsession is perfection. Nevertheless, late at night when he lies down to sleep, taking stock of his day, his head on the pillow, he sometimes momentarily comes “back down to Earth”: “I’m actually taking part in a trip to the moon!” Falling asleep with that on your mind can be disconcerting… but also so exciting!

The module’s landing system devised and produced by Héroux-Devtek had specific goals:

  • Bring the vehicle to rest
  • Prevent toppling
  • Absorb the landing impact energy
  • Limit the loads induced on the spacecraft’s structure
  • Provide a stable launch platform for lift-off so the astronauts could return home.

“The sky is the limit”

apollo_11_lunar_module.jpg__274x161_q85_crop

The Ascent Module of the LEM approaches the CSM

It may look simple, but as the work proceeded into virtually unknown territory, with the technology and knowledge of the time, it was quite a challenge. And all of this was in the context of the Cold War with the Soviet Union! Winning the space race, being the first to walk on the moon, was President John F. Kennedy’s “Moon Objective”, and the American people were on board with him. Not such a relaxed atmosphere! Let’s just say our engineers and workers also felt the “G-Force” on them!

Of course, you know how the story ends: Héroux-Devtek successfully manufactured and delivered the landing gear systems for this historic mission and five other space missions. After making history like that, the company can safely say “the sky is the limit”!

The Earth as seen from Héroux-Devtek

logo-heroux-devtek-2.png__274x161_q85_cropThe fame gained by Héroux-Devtek led to its exponential growth throughout North America, especially in the United States. The company is a “little guy” with 70 years of experience, recognized as an international leader in aerospace. When you work at Héroux-Devtek and you know everyone’s passion for engineering there, you just might hear a worker embark on a new project by shouting, “To infinity . . . and beyond!”

A quote from Gilles Labbé, President of Héroux-Devtek

366742-president-chef-direction-heroux-devtek.jpg__274x161_q85_crop

© affaires.lapresse.ca

“We were the first Canadian company to go to the moon. This allowed Héroux to enter the American aviation industry more effectively.”

Un contrat tout étoile !

Apollo 11 LEM on the Moon – Copyright © Chaîne du Québec

 

Quand la NASA a donné l’entreprise son « billet pour la Lune », elle espérait surtout que ces trains d’atterrissage allaient faire décoller l’entreprise ! Ce contrat, le plus prestigieux de la jeune histoire de Héroux, d’une valeur de 340 000 $ (à peu près 2 millions de dollars aujourd’hui), consistait à construire huit pattes télescopiques avec amortisseurs. Ça a l’air simple comme ça, mais comme personne n’avait jamais posé le pied sur la Lune, ses ingénieurs n’avaient aucune idée du sol sur lequel la capsule allait alunir. Mais le défi était passionnant pour refuser !

 

ap11leminspec.jpg__274x161_q85_crop

Apollo 11 LEM Undocks for Landing

En génie, il s’en fait parfois des mandats spéciaux comme ça. Des projets souvent secrets, parce que très stratégiques. Mais quand un ingénieur est plongé au quotidien dans les plans, les tests et l’assemblage, il en oublie l’utilisation finale. Sa seule obsession, c’est la perfection. Mais le soir en se couchant, en faisant le bilan de sa journée, la tête sur l’oreiller, il a parfois des petits « retours sur Terre » : « J’suis vraiment en train de participer à un voyage sur la Lune moi ! ». S’endormir avec ça en tête, c’est troublant… mais tellement stimulant !

Le système d’alunissage du module imaginé et produit par Héroux-Devtek avait des objectifs précis :

  • Immobiliser l’appareil
  • Éviter qu’il ne bascule
  • Absorber l’énergie de l’impact
  • Limiter les chocs sur la structure
  • Offrir une plateforme de lancement solide et stable pour permettre aux astronautes de revenir sur la Terre.

« Sky is the limit »

apollo_11_lunar_module.jpg__274x161_q85_crop

The Ascent Module of the LEM approaches the CSM

Simple en apparence, mais comme le travail se déroulait presque dans l’inconnu, avec les moyens techniques et les connaissances de l’époque, c’était tout un défi. Et tout ça, dans une atmosphère de Guerre Froide avec l’URSS ! Gagner la course à l’espace, être les premiers à marcher sur la Lune, c’était « L’Objectif Lune » du président John F. Kennedy et dans lequel il avait embarqué le peuple américain. Pas relax comme atmosphère ! Disons que nos ingénieurs et travailleurs vivaient aussi leur « Force G » à eux !!!

Bien sûr, vous connaissez la fin de l’histoire : Héroux-Devtek a livré avec succès les systèmes d’atterrissage pour cette mission historique et cinq autres missions spatiales. Après être entré dans l’Histoire comme ça, elle peut se dire « Sky Is The Limit » !!

La Terre vue de chez Héroux-Devtek

logo-heroux-devtek-2.png__274x161_q85_cropLa renommée acquise par Héroux-Devtek a favorisé son développement exponentiel partout en Amérique du Nord et surtout aux États-Unis. L’entreprise est une « p’tite jeune » de 70 ans d’expérience, reconnue comme un chef de file international en aérospatiale. Quand on travaille chez Héroux-Devtek, quand on connaît la passion de son monde pour le génie, il peut arriver qu’on entende un travailleur se lancer dans un nouveau projet en criant « Jusqu’à l’infini… et plus loin encore ! »

Citation Gilles Labbé, président de Héroux-Devtek

366742-president-chef-direction-heroux-devtek.jpg__274x161_q85_crop

© affaires.lapresse.ca

 

« Nous avons été la première entreprise canadienne à aller sur la Lune. Cela a permis à Héroux de pénétrer plus efficacement l’industrie américaine de l’aviation »