Passionate from the early age of 10!

laurence_j_lesh.jpg__274x161_q85_crop

Laurence J. Lesh (1892-1965)

Born in Iowa, Laurence Jerome Lesh was only 10 years old when he developed a passion for aeronautics, experimenting with kites, with the idea of building a glider. Around 1906, while living in Chicago, Lesh made contact with Octave Chanute, the famous aviation theorist and mentor of the Wright brothers. The teenager returned home with his hands full of plans and the bonus incentive of a $50 cheque. Immediately getting to work on various prototypes, Lesh made his first successful glides in June 1907. A month later, his family moved to Montréal.

Impressed by Lesh’s rapid progress, Chanute wrote to the Wright brothers to tell them about a young prodigy who “displays quite extraordinary aptitude for aeronautics”. Chanute also tried to secure his protégé a position within the Wright organization in anticipation of their next tour of France, but the project didn’t materialize.

24 minutes above the river!

as16.jpg__274x161_q85_crop

Lawrence J. Lesh in Glider Flight at Morris Park – The Aeronautic Society Bulletin No. 1

In August 1907, at the young age of 14, Lesh made the country’s first flights in Montréal, flying a self-made biplane glider . . . pulled by a galloping horse! A few days later, the boy set a world record for a 24-minute flight over the Saint Lawrence River, this time pulled for ten kilometres by a motorboat. The flight was rather eventful, as the ropes holding the seat broke in flight and the glider was destroyed during its recovery from the water.

Lesh began construction of a second, more evolved glider, which he used to make about fifty flights, pulled by a horse. While most aircraft of the time used wing warping to turn, Lesh was the first in North America to introduce the use of ailerons, in addition to experimenting with various automatic stabilization devices. Lesh published his results in 1907 and 1908 in various influential magazines such as Scientific American, Aeronautics and American Magazine of Aeronautics.

“Lesh’s gliders were pulled by a galloping horse, an automobile and even a motorboat”

morrispark-car-sepia.jpg__615x250_q85_crop

Laurence J. Lesh, an early glider pionee

Passionné dès l’age de 10 ans!

laurence_j_lesh.jpg__274x161_q85_crop

Laurence J. Lesh (1892-1965)

Né dans l’Iowa, Laurence Jerome Lesh se passionna pour l’aéronautique dès l’âge de 10 ans, expérimentant avec des cerfs-volants, avec l’idée arrêtée de concevoir un planeur. Vers 1906, habitant Chicago, Lesh prit contact avec Octave Chanute, le célèbre théoricien de l’aviation et mentor des frères Wright. L’adolescent repartit de chez lui les bras chargés de plans, recevant en prime un chèque d’encouragement de 50 $. Lesh entreprit aussitôt la construction de divers prototypes, réussissant ses premières glissades en juin 1907. Le mois suivant, sa famille déménageait à Montréal.

Impressionné par les progrès rapides de Lesh, Chanute écrivit aux frères Wright pour leur parler d’un jeune prodige « démontrant des aptitudes extraordinaires pour l’aéronautique ». Chanute tenta même d’obtenir pour son protégé un poste dans l’organisation Wright en prévision de leur tournée prochaine en France, mais le projet ne se concrétisa pas.

24 minutes au-dessus du fleuve!

as16.jpg__274x161_q85_crop

Lawrence J. Lesh in Glider Flight at Morris Park – The Aeronautic Society Bulletin No. 1

Au mois d’août 1907, âgé d’à peine 14 ans, Lesh réalisa à Montréal les premières envolées au pays, aux commandes d’un planeur biplan de sa conception tiré… par un cheval au galop ! Quelques jours plus tard, le garçon établissait une marque mondiale en réussissant une envolée d’une dizaine de kilomètres qui dura 24 minutes au-dessus du fleuve Saint-Laurent, tiré cette fois par une embarcation-moteur. L’envolée fut passablement mouvementée; en effet, les attaches du siège se brisèrent en vol et le planeur fut détruit durant sa récupération hors de l’eau.

Lesh entama la construction d’un second planeur, plus évolué, avec lequel il réalisa une cinquantaine d’envolées propulsées par un cheval. Tandis que la plupart des aéronefs du temps viraient par torsion des ailes, Lesh fut le premier à introduire en Amérique l’usage d’ailerons, en plus d’expérimenter divers dispositifs de stabilisation automatique. Lesh publia ses résultats en 1907 et 1908 dans divers magazines influents tels Scientific American, Aeronautics et American Magazine of Aeronautics.

« Les planeurs de Lesh étaient tirés par un cheval au galop, une automobile et même un bateau-moteur »

morrispark-car-sepia.jpg__615x250_q85_crop

Laurence J. Lesh, an early glider pionee