Even after more than 50 years, it has remained super powerful, extremely versatile and as innovative as ever! To date, more than 51,000 PT6 engines have been used to power some 130 different applications, from boat racing to Formula 1, to hovercraft, to the TurboTrain, to snow ploughs and even the anti-submarine hydrofoil. But of course it is in the air—in thousands of high-performance aircraft and helicopters—that it has achieved its greatest exploits, such as exceeding 380 million hours of flight, ten times more than its closest competitors.

Although the PT6A family of engines (“small”, “medium” and “large” categories) can be found in the aircraft of over 7,200 operators in more than 180 countries, it does not neglect the specific needs of aviation enthusiasts. For these air fanatics who build their own experimental aircraft, the lightness, small size and high reliability of the PT6 engine make it a perfect flight companion. What’s more, its extremely simple design makes the routine maintenance easier!


Copyright © Pratt & Whitney Canada Corp.

The PT6: a great engine of Quebec engineering!


Copyright © Pratt & Whitney Canada Corp.

As you can see, the history of the PT6 is a true saga, with its hundreds of heroic engineers who have used their creativity to always keep it on top. For them, evolution means innovation. Never satisfied, they continue to push the engine’s power to the limits today, taking advantage of advanced technologies when it comes to materials (lighter and more resistant to heat and extreme cold), aerodynamics, miniaturization, not to mention the software engineering that makes design, manufacturing and maintenance more efficient and accurate.

Compared to the PT6 of 1963, today’s version is nearly four times more powerful, the power-to-weight ratio has increased by 40%, and it now has 20% better performance in terms of specific fuel consumption. And all this with an unchanged engine diameter! You could say it has it all!

Montréal, stronghold of the aerospace industry

mecanicienne_travaillant_sur_moteur_pt6_assemblage.jpg__274x161_q85_crop

Copyright © Pratt & Whitney Canada Corp.

To continue its long history and to keep widening the gap with its rivals, the teams at P&WC are always introducing the latest cutting-edge technologies. And it is here in the Montréal area that the future of aviation engines is rewritten every day.

 

 

A quote from John Saabas – President, Pratt & Whitney Canada

john_saabas_front_lobby_6.jpg__274x161_q85_crop

Copyright © Pratt & Whitney Canada Corp.

“It was a labour of love. And still is. The PT6 engine is unmatched in its tradition of reliability and excellence. Now, celebrating its 50th anniversary of flight, the PT6 engine remains a powerhouse in aviation engineering.”

Vous allez voir que même à plus de 50 ans, ont peut demeurer super puissant, extrêmement polyvalent et toujours aussi innovateur ! À ce jour, plus de 51 000 PT6 ont été utilisés dans près de 130 fonctions différentes, du bateau de course à la Formule 1 en passant par l’aéroglisseur, le turbo-train, des chasse-neiges et même l’hydroptère anti-sous-marin. Mais évidemment, c’est en l’air, dans des milliers d’avions et d’hélicoptères à haute performance, qu’il a réalisé ses plus grands exploits, comme d’accumuler plus de 380 millions d’heures de vol, soit 10 fois plus que ses concurrents les plus proches.

Bien que la famille de moteurs PT6A (catégories « petits », « moyens » et « gros ») se retrouve sur les appareils de quelque 7200 exploitants dans plus de 180 pays, elle n’oublie pas les besoins particuliers des passionnées d’aviation. Pour ces maniaques de l’air qui construisent leur propre avion expérimental, la légèreté, le petit format et la grande fiabilité du moteur PT6 en font un parfait compagnon de vol. De plus, sa conception simplifie l’entretien de routine !


Copyright © Pratt & Whitney Canada Corp.

Le PT6 : un grand moteur du génie québécois !


Copyright © Pratt & Whitney Canada Corp.

Comme vous le constatez, l’histoire du PT6 tient de l’authentique saga, avec ses centaines d’ingénieurs héroïques qui ont su user de créativité pour le maintenir toujours au sommet. Pour eux, l’évolution passe par l’innovation. Jamais satisfaits, ils repoussent encore aujourd’hui les limites de la puissance du moteur en profitant des avancées technologiques liées aux matériaux (plus légers et plus résistants à la chaleur comme au froid extrêmes), en aérodynamisme, en miniaturisation, sans compter l’ingénierie logicielle qui rend la conception, la fabrication et l’entretien plus efficaces et précis.

Comparativement au PT6 de 1963, la version d’aujourd’hui est près de quatre fois plus puissante, affiche un rapport puissance-poids supérieur de 40 % et une consommation spécifique de carburant plus économique de 20 %. Et tout ça, avec un diamètre de moteur inchangé. On peut dire qu’il en a dedans !

 

Montréal, place forte de l’industrie aérospatiale

mecanicienne_travaillant_sur_moteur_pt6_assemblage.jpg__274x161_q85_crop

Copyright © Pratt & Whitney Canada Corp.

Pour qu’il poursuive encore longtemps son chemin et qu’il continue de creuser l’écart avec ses poursuivants, les équipes de P&WC lui injectent l’avant-garde des nouvelles technologies. Et c’est ici, dans la région de Montréal, que se réécrit chaque jour l’avenir de la motorisation en aéronautique.

 

 

Citation de John Saabas, président, Pratt & Whitney Canada& Whitney Canada

john_saabas_front_lobby_6.jpg__274x161_q85_crop

Copyright © Pratt & Whitney Canada Corp.

« Ce fut un travail d’équipe. Et ça l’est toujours. Le moteur PT6 demeure inégalé dans sa tradition de fiabilité et d’excellence. Il célèbre maintenant son 50e anniversaire de vol. Et il demeure un géant de l’ingénierie aéronautique. »